Making of the puppet – Part 2 – Plasticine

Working from the proportions of the wax puppet and the puppet I used to make the mould, I created a new puppet out of plasticine. This time I didn’t cover the armature only with plasticine, but also with foil. This in order to make it lighter and don’t waste too much plasticine. The eyes are two beads I made out of Fimo, but my plan is to use glass beads so they look more alive and shiny.

I added the hole in the middle of the body as a metaphor for the exhausting, overbearing experience that consumes the character. In my plans, the hole should have got bigger as the story unfolds.

The feedback I received, especially from Emma, made me re-think of the approach in making the puppet from scratch. Eo feels still too heavy and unbalanced, the head is too big and the body is not flexible enough. To overcome these issues, she gave good advice about the way to use the materials such as wire, foil and plasticine. I will make more puppets based on her suggestions.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started